Manila, Philippines – The first-ever Philippine Rice Bowl Startup Awards was held last Friday, July 15, 2016 at A SPACE Greenbelt, a gala event attend by a who’s who of the Philippines startup community. Eleven winners were announced in categories such as Startup of the Year, Founder of the Year, and Disruptor of the Year.

All winners from each of eleven categories will represent the Philippines at the ASEAN Rice Bowl Startup Awards regional finals happening in September, also in Manila (venue to be confirmed). The awards will be the headline event of an unconference produced by A SPACE Philippines called RBL.ION.MNL. Winners of the ASEAN Rice Bowl Startup Awards Finals will compete in November at the Global Startup Awards finale, this year in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia.

Community partners, Troo and Community Backers like PLDT SME Nation, Nokia, Manila Recruitment, Talas and McCann expressed their own support to the startup ecosystem. Different media organizations such as Inquirer, Rappler, Adobo Magazine and Bloomberg attended and covered the event as well.


List of Winners of the Philippine Startup Awards 2016:

Startup Journalist of the Year – Oliver Segovia 

01 RBSA Winner IG_Oliver Segovia

Best Professional Investor of the Year: Hatchd 

03 RBSA Winner IG_Hatchd

Developer Hero: Jason Torres of ProudCloud

04 RBSA Winner IG_Proud Cloud Jason Torres

Best Newcomer: Wifi Interactive Network

02 RBSA Winner IG_WIN

Campaign of the Year: iVolunteer

05 RBSA Winner IG_iVolunteer

Best Social Media Influencer: Maria Ressa, Rappler

08 RBSA Winner IG_Rappler Maria Ressa

Best Social Enterprise: Cropital 

06 RBSA Winner IG_Cropital

Best Disruptor/Game Changer: Zalora 

09 RBSA Winner IG_Zalora

Startup of the Year: SkyEye Inc. 

10 RBSA Winner IG_SkyEye

Startup Enabler of the Year: Endeavor PH

07 RBSA Winner IG_Endeavor

Founder of the Year: Gabby Dizon, Altitude Games

11 RBSA Winner IG_Gabby Dizon Altitude Games













A SPACE is the Philippines Country Partner + Community Partner for the 2016 Rice Bowl Awards

Gabrielle Bailon, Media Liason at A SPACE Philippines

Matthew Morrison, Founder of A SPACE Philippines

Micah Asistores, Community Rockstar at A SPACE Philippines

John Tong at Rice Bowl Awards, Malaysia

James Digby at Global Startup Awards, Copenhagen



A SPACE is the Philippines’ leading coworking project, acting as a crossroads for the innovation community through workspace, event space, entrepreneurial programs, and rockstar treatment of the Global Startup tribe.

Started in 2011, A SPACE has become the largest coworking community in the country with four next-generation Spaces serving Manila and Cebu.

For more information on A SPACE Philippines please visit:



The ASEAN Rice Bowl Startup Awards 2016 is the first and only ASEAN awards, to recognise breakout startups in the region that harness digital technology. The Rice Bowl honours rising startups and ecosystem players that: Embrace mobility by harnessing technology, especially in web or mobile, in redefining business strategies. Promise high growth potential and are worthy of a regional recognition

Our main objective is to celebrate ASEAN’s successful startups that will push new frontiers into the global digital technology arena.

For more information on the the Rice Bowl Asean Startup Awards, please visit


Starting in the Nordics in 2012, the Global Startup Awards annually selects and awards those within their respective regional tech / web industries that have shown outstanding achievements in business and service to the community.

Working with local national partners in each of our regions, we go on an annual expedition to find those companies and individuals that within the last 5 years have gone on to become a game changer or inspiration to thousands, if not millions or billions of users and fans –  a rarity considering these numbers are something that other industries have taken many decades to achieve.

For more information on the the Global Startup Awards, please visit:


#RBSA2016, #StartupPH, #aspacetogather


For more information –

Official Facebook Event Page –